Category Archives: South Africa

Kyle Shepherd on Dream State

Dream State marks this trio’s 5 year anniversary. This resilience is evidence of the sincerity of the music and the fire that keeps it alight.

There’s a palpable connectedness they share as players, a connection that also touches attuned audiences at their live performances too.

This band is on a search for more than beautiful notes. They are asking more of the music.

It’s corporeal and ethereal aspects are invoked into the simultaneous sound ritual. Each performance takes on the nature of a meditation and as Zim Ngqawana said, “The music must lead us towards ourselves.”

The Kyle Shepherd Trio are:

Kyle Shepherd (piano)
Shane Cooper (double bass)
Jonno Sweetman (drums)
Also feat. Buddy Wells (tenor saxophone)

The album is available on iTunes

PLUSH’s Final Farewell kicks off this week

PlushPLUSH will be embarking on their final farewell tour as the first 2 shows of the tour takes place this weekend in Cape Town and are already Sold Out for Friday, the 4th of April,  at Café Roux and Sunday, 6 April at Alma Cafe

Announcing the news on Facebook, they posted the following to fans announcing the Final Farewell Tour:We know we’ve been a bit quiet recently, but that does not make the following announcement any easier for us. We’ll be embarking on ‘The Postcard Tour’ in April 2014. It brings to an end this amazing adventure. 17 years, 4 albums, 2 EP’s, numerous singles, friends from all over the globe, thousands of gigs from intimate lounges to raucous festivals, highs, lows, tragedy and triumph – we’ve had the time of our lives. Consider all of this emotion, pack it into a few weeks, and you get our final farewell. A farewell that pays homage to what we as PLUSH hold most dear. You, our fans and friends and all the times we had together.”

This final tour celebrates and remembers this history as PLUSH takes to the road one last time to meet with their fans through great music and Rory’s ever memorable onstage story-telling.

PLUSH will head off on a 10-date tour across SA performing to fans as they kick-off “The Postcard Tour” this weekend. In support of “The Postcard Tour”, PLUSH will be releasing their ‘Best Of’ 18-track album entitled “PLUSH: 2000 – 2014″ which will include favourites such as “My Baby“, “Wishing Well“, “All For The Better“, “Today“, “Dancing In A Storm“, a Live version of “Halo“, and a new unreleased bonus track, “Springsteen”.

Join PLUSH for one last time on “The Postcard Tour” - For ticket info, go to:

Show Details are:

4 April – Cafe Roux, CPT SOLD OUT
6 April – Alma Cafe, CPT SOLD OUT
24 April – Tanz Cafe, JHB
26 April – Secret Garden Gig (by Invite Only), JHB
27 April – Park Acoustics, PTA
30 April – Klein Libertas, STELL
2 May – Live-The Venue, DBN
3 May – Maritzburg College, Pietermaritzburg
9 May – Assembly, CPT
11 May – Studio 7, CPT SOLD OUT

Official Website:

Facebook Page:

Jeremy Loops Album Trading Change Debuts at No. 1

Trading Change, the debut album by Cape Town musician Jeremy Loops, has climbed straight to No. 1 on the iTunes SA charts on release day.

The album, which features the singles Power, Mission to the Sun (ft. Jamie Faull) and Down South (ft. Motheo Moleko), was released on 31 March on iTunes SA, with the CD release set for 7 April across stores nationwide, and a worldwide release tentatively scheduled for May 2014.

Trading Change flew to its No.1 position ahead of the formidable Now series (Now 66) as well as new albums by international favourites Toni Braxton and Shakira. Speaking on the albums impressive sales debut, Jeremy Loops said ‘This is Crazy! We hoped the album would be well-received, but this initial response is simply overwhelming. I’m still taking it all in.’

The album’s official launch party will be held at his Kirstenbosch show on 6 April, closing out Old Mutual’s annual Summerset Concert series and Johannesburg at Katy’s Palace on the 23rd April.

Jeremy Loops will tour Canada, the United States, and the United Kingdom in May in support of the album’s release, with additional European tour dates being finalised.

Download Trading Change today:


  1. Sinner
  2. Power
  3. Down South ft Motheo Moleko
  4. Trip Fox
  5. Mission ft Jamie Faull
  6. Lonesome and Blue ft Adelle Nqeto
  7. Skinny Blues
  8. Higher Stakes
  9. Running Away ft Motheo Moleko
  10. Killer Killer
  11. My Shoes ft Motheo Moleko
  12. Basil