Category Archives: South Africa

Kyle Shepherd Trio Dream State CD Cape Town Launch

Kyle Shepherd Trio - Dream StateThe Cape Town launch concert of the Kyle Shepherd Trio’s Double Album ‘Dream State’ will happen on Friday 29 August 2014 at UCT’s SA College of Music.

The launch of ‘Dream State’ marks the 5-year Anniversary of Shepherd’s much-lauded Trio.

The concert, presented by fineART Music and generously sponsored by Ultra Event Technical Solutions and Dunstone Wines features Shepherd, the 2014 Standard Bank Young Artist of the Year Award (SBYA) winner for Jazz and African News Network, ANN7’s 2014 Young South African of the Year Award Nominee, on piano, together with two of South Africa’s most celebrated musicians, namely, Shane Cooper – the 2013 SBYA recipient – on double bass and Jonno Sweetman on drums.

‘Dream State’, a 21-track double disc album of Shepherd’s original compositions, features Shepherd on piano, Shane Cooper on double bass and Jonno Sweetman on drums. The pre-eminent SA saxophonist, Buddy Wells, features on five of the tracks.

In this studio recording, the Trio, rather magnificently captures the fluidity, intensity and inventiveness of its live performances that has entranced audiences across South Africa and abroad. View the Official ‘Dream State’ EPK Video at

In her review of the official launch concert held at the Wits Great Hall in Johannesburg on 26 July 2014, revered Jazz music journalist, author and historian, Gwen Ansell, wrote in Business Day that “Repeat listening to the same material on record underlines what a distinctive voice Shepherd now has. Those fragments of musical home that have always characterised his compositions and playing are still there; the reworkings, though, are often unexpected and subtle, emerging from a modern and personal pianism that isn’t in anybody’s shadow. Dream State joins an impressive 2014 list of albums of the year.”

In the album’s liner notes, renowned arts journalist, Percy Mabandu succinctly described the ethos of the trio in this way:

“There’s a palpable connectedness they share as players, a connection that also touches attuned audiences at their live performances too. This band is on a search for more than beautiful notes. They are asking more of the music. Its corporeal and ethereal aspects are invoked into the simultaneous sound ritual. Each performance takes on the nature of a meditation and as Zim Ngqawana said, ‘the music must lead us towards ourselves’. ”

‘Dream State’ which was recorded by Peter Auret at the Sumo Sound Recording Studio, mixed by Pål Svenre (Sweden) and mastered by Tim Lengfeld at TL Mastering, is the 27-year old pianist’s 4th Album. His previous critically acclaimed releases, ‘fineART’, ‘A Portrait of Home’ and South African History !X, have all garnered South African Music Award nominations.

Since the release of his debut album in 2009, Shepherd’s international career has advanced remarkably with performances, either as a solo pianist or trio, quartet and other formats in France, Switzerland, Germany, Japan, Denmark, South Africa at The Cape Town International Jazz Festival and The Joy of Jazz Festival, Zimbabwe at The Harare International Festival – HIFA, China and India.

The twenty-seven year old virtuoso pianist will embark on a Solo Piano Tour of Japan in September 2014 which will include a performance at the prestigious Tokyo International Jazz Festival, Japan on Sunday, 07 September 2014; after which he heads for the USA with Kesivan & The Lights for a show at Carnegie Hall, New York on the 30th of October 2014. The Kyle Shepherd Trio is billed to play at The Standard Bank Joy of Jazz Festival, Sandton, on 27 September 2014.

Copies of the new CD will be on sale at the launch concert and will be also be available at most major retail stores in South Africa and downloadable via all major digital platforms worldwide, during August 2014.


– Date: Friday, 29 August 2014
– Time: 20:30
– Duration: 80 min (one set only)
– Venue: UCT, SA College of Music (behind the Baxter Theatre), Lower Campus, off Woolsack Drive, Rondebosch, Cape Town.
– RESERVATIONS: Pre-Book & Pay Online at QUICKET and only pay R90.00*!
* Quicket adds a service fee of R3.90 to each ticket (capped at R10 per transaction)

OR To Book and Pay R100.00 entry fee in CASH at Door please visit the Booking Form at OR Call 072 351 5204!

The event is also on Facebook:

Lorraine Klaasen – A Tribute To Miriam Makeba

Lorraine Klaasen - A Tribute to Miriam MakebaSoweto born Lorraine Klaasen now based in Montreal, Canada, is an eclectic South African performer, and daughter of the legendary Thandi Klaasen.

On this album she presents a selection of amazing Miriam Makeba classics.

“Makeba left us all a great gift and I hope to pay tribute to her with my music” says Lorraine.

The album won the 2013 Juno award for WORLD MUSIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR


01. Click Song
02. Medley: Jikele Maweni & Intoyam
03. Kudala Ndikulindie
04. Lakutshon’Ilanga
05. Lorraine
06. Mina Nawe
07. Pata Pata
08. Imbizo
09. Unomeva
10. Iphindlela

Alt-J – This Is All Yours

alt-J - TIAYAlt-J are Joe Newman, Gus Unger-Hamilton and Thom Green. They released their debut album An Awesome Wave to critical acclaim in May 2012 (September 2012 in North America). The album won the Mercury Music Prize in November 2012 and was nominated for British Album of the Year at the Brit Awards in February 2013, one of three nominations the band received. In May that year An Awesome Wave received the Ivor Novello Album Award. It has now sold over one million copies and has been streamed more than 200 million times on Spotify. This Is All Yours will be released in the UK on 22 September via Infectious Music in CD, digital and double-vinyl editions.

Alt-J will embark on a UK tour the week of the album’s release, including their biggest London show to date at the 10,000-capacity Alexandra Palace which sold out in ten minutes. A second Manchester show has been added due to overwhelming demand. Alt-J blew South African fans away when they headlined Vodacom In the City in October 2013 and ‘Rocking The Daisies’.


01. Intro
02. Arrival In Nara
03. Nara
04. Every Other Freckle
05. Left Hand Free
06. Garden Of England
07. Choice Kingdom
08. Hunger Of The Pine
09. Warm Foothills
10. The Gospel Of John Hurt
11. Pusher
12. Bloodflood pt.II
13. Leaving Nara