Category Archives: Jazz

Lorraine Klaasen – A Tribute To Miriam Makeba

Lorraine Klaasen - A Tribute to Miriam MakebaSoweto born Lorraine Klaasen now based in Montreal, Canada, is an eclectic South African performer, and daughter of the legendary Thandi Klaasen.

On this album she presents a selection of amazing Miriam Makeba classics.

“Makeba left us all a great gift and I hope to pay tribute to her with my music” says Lorraine.

The album won the 2013 Juno award for WORLD MUSIC ALBUM OF THE YEAR


01. Click Song
02. Medley: Jikele Maweni & Intoyam
03. Kudala Ndikulindie
04. Lakutshon’Ilanga
05. Lorraine
06. Mina Nawe
07. Pata Pata
08. Imbizo
09. Unomeva
10. Iphindlela

Kirk Whalum – Duets

Kirk Whalum - DuetsKirk Whalum “Duets” is an album of Classic Hits featuring collaborations with well known artists such as Musiq Soulchild, Yolanda Adams, Lala Hathaway, Wendy Moten, Jonathan Butler, the late Isaac Hayes and Ernie Smith.

With a career spanning three decades, seven Grammy nominations, and numerous chart-topping albums, the “Duets” album marks the musical genius the saxophonist Kirk Whalum is in penning these collaborations featuring high profile artists.


01. Where Do I Come From (with Yolanda Adams)
02. All I Do (with Wendy Moten)
03. I Love You In Memphis (with Isaac Hayes & Wendy Moten)
04. Inside (with Shanice)
05. We Are Still Friends (with Musiq SoulChild)
06. You Had to Know (with Lala Hathaway)
07. Give Me Your Love (with Yolanda Adams)
08. Til I Get It Right (Vaneesa Thomas)
09. I Turn To You
10. Can’t Stop The Rain
11. After All This Time (with Howard Hewett)
12. Love Is A Lossing Game (Javette Steele)
13. Dedicated To You (with Kevin Whalum)
14. Falling In Love With Jesus (with Jonathan Butler)
15. Ten Years Free (with Ernie Smith)

Kyle Shepherd on Dream State

Dream State marks this trio’s 5 year anniversary. This resilience is evidence of the sincerity of the music and the fire that keeps it alight.

There’s a palpable connectedness they share as players, a connection that also touches attuned audiences at their live performances too.

This band is on a search for more than beautiful notes. They are asking more of the music.

It’s corporeal and ethereal aspects are invoked into the simultaneous sound ritual. Each performance takes on the nature of a meditation and as Zim Ngqawana said, “The music must lead us towards ourselves.”

The Kyle Shepherd Trio are:

Kyle Shepherd (piano)
Shane Cooper (double bass)
Jonno Sweetman (drums)
Also feat. Buddy Wells (tenor saxophone)

The album is available on iTunes